Liverpool crowned Carabao champions

Photo of author

Mo Chaib

Liverpool vs Chelsea via Gettyimages

Liverpool were crowned CARABAO champions after beating Chelsea with an injury time goal in the final at Wembley Stadium on Sunday evening.

The match witnessed great parity between the two teams, throughout the game, which was the heroes of the two goalkeepers Dorde Petrovic on the Chelsea side and Caoimhin Kelleher, who stood in front of all the attacks, to end the match with a negative draw, so the two teams resorted to two extra halves, and Virgil Van Dijk settled the match in the 118th minute in favour of the Reds after a header that settled the Blues’ net, to crown Liverpool with the English League Cup title for the tenth time in its history.

The match witnessed significant absences from both sides, as (Rice James, Wesley Fofana, Marc Cucurella, Thiago Silva, Benoit Badiashile, Carney chukwuemeka) from the Chelsea side, and (Alisson, Joel Matip, Alexander Arnold, Dominic Sobozlai, Diogo Jota, Darwin Nunez, Mohamed Salah, Tiago Alcantara, Curtis Jones) were all absent. for Liverpool.

Liverpool won their first title since 2022 and it was at the expense of Chelsea as well, where they beat the latter in the England Cup and the Carabao Cup, on the other hand, the Blues failed to achieve their sixth title, and came close to exiting the current season without titles despite the strong deals made by the team.

This is Liverpool’s first title this season, and they will be looking to win more trophies, especially the Premier League, which they lead with 60 points, one point ahead of second-placed Manchester City.

Leave a Comment